Amazon beats Apple and Argos to top list of Top 50 online retailers

Share

IMRG and comScore have joined forces to produce the Top 50 IMRG Retailer Ranking, a new league table for online retailers.

The IMRG Top 50 Retailer Ranking will be published quarterly, and measures visitors to those websites based on comScore’s MMX online audience measurement technology.

In the inaugural list, online retail giant Amazon beat Apple and Argos to the number one spot. IMRG Managing Director Graeme Howe said: “We are very excited to launch the Top 50 Retailer Ranking in partnership with comScore, as there has been significant demand for the return of such a chart from retailers and the press. We believe this is the definitive list that everyone has been waiting for.” However the list excludes eBay because it is considered a market place and does not include price comparison sites either.

Holiday websites are well represented in the rankings, after the travel sector recorded its strongest July performance since 2010.
Graeme added: “It is not a surprise to see travel websites such as Expedia and EasyJet in the list, as it reflects the Travel sector’s strong performance in our latest e-Retail Sales Index. The correlation we can see between popularity and sales also highlights just how robust our data is.”

Mike Read, Managing Director of comScore UK said: “For retailers, online is an increasingly important channel throughout the entire customer experience – from building awareness to purchase and every step in between. Retailers that understand how their consumers are engaging with both their brand and their competitors’ brands online are well positioned to leverage the full potential of the digital channel.

“We are pleased to work with IMRG to provide insight into the online retail market and the latest trends impacting the industry.”
The rankings are based on website visitors. For more information, visit www.imrg.org.

The IMRG comScore Top 50 Retailer Ranking full list

 

1 Amazon UK www.amazon.co.uk
2 Argos www.argos.co.uk
3 Apple www.apple.com
4 Tesco www.tesco.com
5 Asda www.asda.co.uk
6 Next www.next.co.uk
7 Marks & Spencer www.marksandspencer.com
8 Asos www.asos.com
9 Netflix www.netflix.com
10 National Rail www.nationalrail.co.uk
11 John Lewis www.johnlewis.com
12 Trainline.com www.thetrainline.com
13 AVG www.avg.com
14 B&Q www.diy.com
15 Debenhams www.debenhams.com
16 Thomson www.thomson.co.uk
17 Expedia www.expedia.co.uk
18 easyJet.com www.easyjet.com
19 Boots www.boots.com
20 SportsDirect.com www.sportsdirect.com
21 Currys www.currys.co.uk
22 Ryanair www.ryanair.com
23 Thomas Cook www.thomascook.com
24 O2 www.o2.co.uk
25 Ticketmaster UK www.ticketmaster.co.uk
26 New Look www.newlook.com
27 Very www.very.co.uk
28 Lastminute.com www.lastminute.com
29 IKEA www.ikea.com
30 Sainsbury’s www.sainsburys.co.uk
31 Homebase www.homebase.co.uk
32 Travel Republic www.travelrepublic.co.uk
33 River Island www.riverisland.com
34 Premier Inn www.premierinn.com
35 On the Beach www.onthebeach.co.uk
36 British Airways www.ba.com
37 Screwfix www.screwfix.com
38 House of Fraser www.houseoffraser.co.uk
39 Hewlett Packard www.hp.com
40 Halfords www.halfords.com
41 eDreams www.edreams.co.uk
42 Littlewoods www.littlewoods.com
43 PC World www.pcworld.co.uk
44 Wickes www.wickes.co.uk
45 Travelodge www.travelodge.co.uk
46 JD Sports www.jdsports.co.uk
47 Matalan www.matalan.co.uk
48 Boohoo www.boohoo.com
49 Cineworld www.cineworld.co.uk
50 National Express www.nationalexpress.com

 

 

Chris Price