BT Digital Music Awards – nominations announced

Share

bt-dmas.jpgIt’s that time of the year again – the BT Digital Music Awards. These are awards which are given to bands, artists, labels, shops, and other digital music services which really use the web to its greatest advantage. Although there’s quite a lot of “which band has the prettiest website” rubbish in the awards, there’s also categories like “Best Digital Service”, “Best Music Shop” and “Best Music Hardware”.

7digital are in the running for both Best Music Shop and Best Digital Service, and if you’ve read my post yesterday about them, then you’ll know that they’ve got my vote. They’ve got some strong competition though – eMusic and Sellaband are up against them in those respective categories. God knows why the glorified spreadsheet that is iTunes got a nomination, though.

Full list of nominations and further analysis are over the jump.

There’s absolutely no mention of Radiohead’s fantastic Digg-style “Nude” remix competition, sadly, though I suppose that, along with their “pay-what-you-want” release of In Rainbows is counted under their nomination for Artist of the Year. Bizarrely KylieKonnect – the social network for fans of Kylie – is nominated, without any mention of the social networks built for fans of Radiohead, Madonna, Metallica and of course, The Hoff.

No mention either of Audiosurf – the fantastic genre-bending puzzle game which crosses Tetris, iTunes and WipEout. This, in particular, is a glaring omission because the game is hugely popular and is reinvigorating demand in a lot of classic artists. If you want to find out more, check out their site at http://www.audio-surf.com/. It’s only a fiver.

If you can live without these omissions, then you can vote by going to the awards’ website here. My favourites in each category are italicised in the full list of nominations below, though it’ll probably tell you more about my music taste than anything else.

Best Pop Artist
Alphabeat (www.thisisalphabeat.com)
Kylie (www.kylie.com)
Sam Beeton (www.sambeeton.com)
The Hoosiers (www.thehoosiers.com)
The Ting Tings (www.thetingtings.com)

Best Rock/Indie Artist
Bloc Party (www.blocparty.com)
Coldplay (www.coldplay.com)
Ida Maria (www.idamariamusic.co.uk)
Radiohead (www.radiohead.com)
The Futureheads (www.thefutureheads.com)

Best Urban Artist
Akala (www.akalamusic.com)
Beardyman (www.myspace.com/beardyman)
M.I.A. (www.miauk.com)
Roots Manuva (www.rootsmanuva.co.uk)
Wiley (www.myspace.com/eskiboywiley)

Best Electronic Artist or DJ
Basshunter (www.hard2beat.com)
Bjork (http://www.bjork.com/)
Hadouken! (www.hadouken.co.uk)
Pendulum (www.pendulum.com)
Sam Sparro (www.samsparro.com)

Best Podcast
Audio podcasts
Book Slam
Clash Podcast
Fabric Podcast
Hospital Records Podcast
Tune Up

Video podcasts
Flyposter
Philharmonic Orchestra Video Podcasts
Rockstar Tutorial Now Play It
The Zutons Podcast
Tune Up

Best Radio Station
BBC 6 Music (http://www.bbc.co.uk/6music/)
BBC Asian Network (www.bbc.co.uk/asiannetwork)
Gaydar Radio (www.gaydarradio.com)
Passion for the Planet (www.passionfortheplanet.com)
Planet Rock (www.planetrock.com)

Best Music Store
7 Digital (www.7digital.com)
eMusic (www.emusic.com)
iTunes (www.apple.com/uk)
Music Station (www.omnifone.com)
Napster (www.napster.co.uk)

Best Music Magazine
Clash Music (www.clashmusic.com)
Drowned in Sound (www.drownedinsound.com)
I Like Music (www.ilikemusic.com)
NME.com (www.nme.com)
Resident Advisor (www.residentadvisor.net)

Best Music Community
Bloc Party Marshals (www.blocparty.com)
Download Festival Community (www.downloadfestival.co.uk)
Drowned in Sound (http://drownedinsound.com)
Get Closer (www.getcloser.com)
NUMU (www.numu.org.uk)

The following categories have been shortlisted by an expert-judging panel:

Best Artist Promotion
Bloc Party: Intimacy album release
Dylan Messenger – Bob Dylan album promotion
Michael Jackson Dance – ‘King of Pop’ album viral dance game
Foals/Last.fm/7digital remix competition
Thriller 25: Dance on the Tube – Michael Jackson album promotion

Best Digital Service in association with BT Total Broadband
7digital (www.7digital.com)
eMusic (www.emusic.com)
Sellaband (www.sellaband.com)
Shazam iPhone Application (www.shazam.com)
We7 (www.we7.com)

Best Mobile Campaign
Def Jam Handset
Jonas Brothers
Led Zeppelin
Red Stripe Camden Crawl
Royal Artist Club

Breakthrough Artist of the Year
Basshunter (www.basshunter.se)
Hadouken! (www.hadouken.co.uk)
The Hoosiers (www.thehoosiers.com)
The Script (www.thescriptmusic.com)
Vampire Weekend (www.vampireweekend.com)

Artist of the Year
British Sea Power (www.britishseapower.co.uk)
Coldplay (www.coldplay.com)
Kylie (www.kylie.com)
Leona Lewis (www.leonalewismusic.com)
Radiohead (www.radiohead.com)

Best Innovation
Kylie Konnect (kyliekonnect.com)
MusicStation (www.omnifone.com)
People’s Music Store (peoplesmusicstore.com)
Sellaband (sellaband.com)
U-myx (www.u-myx.com)

Best Music Hardware
Gibson ‘robot’ guitar
Motorola ROKR E8
Ripserver

BT Digital Music Awards

Related posts: 7digital go 100% DRM-Free | RUMOUR: MySpace Music to launch next week?

Duncan Geere