Google’s Private Profiles are for sharing, apparently, and we don’t get a choice in the matter. If you have a Google profile that’s set to private, you have until the end of the month to change it to public. If you don’t, Google will delete it.
Google points out that a mere minimum of information is required on these profiles: “Your full name and gender are the only required information that will be displayed on your profile; you’ll be able to edit or remove any other information that you don’t want to share.”
Fair enough, but it does hint at a possibility of these sharing-hungry social media groups getting harsher with members. “Don’t want to share your personal details? Fine, then leave.” That sort of thing. It’s likely a lot of people would opt to share a bit more rather than leave some of the more popular sites.[via SlashGear]