BT's Wireless City total grows to a dozen


btlogo.gifBT’s Wireless City project has been growing since Birmingham joined the scheme in November last year.

Twelve cities are now networked: Sheffield, Nottingham, Portsmouth, Bristol, Glasgow, Birmingham, Edinburgh, Newcastle, Leeds, Liverpool, Cardiff and Westminster.

BT says that it has met its first target early, and is continuing to roll out networks across the country. These include large BT Openzone areas in many major cities.

BT is committed to helping local authorities to develop applications that run over the new networks so that councils, businesses and residents can get the most benefit from it.

BT will also no doubt be pushing their BT Fusion service.

Andy Merrett
For latest tech stories go to