HTCSense.com closes doors for renovation: back up your files now or lose them!

HTC Sense laptop.jpgHTC have announced that they are to close HTCSense.com for an undisclosed period of time, deleting customers’ cloud stored data in the process.

Planning a major renovation for the service, HTCSense.com users have until the 30th April to back up their Messages, Contacts, Footprints and Call History data.

“Dear HTCSense.com customer, HTCSense.com is undergoing a renovation to improve the services and value we deliver to customers like you,” reads the statement.

“Until the new services are ready, features previously available on HTCSense.com will be shutting down. If you have been using HTCSense.com to sync your Contacts, Messages, Footprints or Call History, you can download your data through April 30, 2012. After April 30, your data will no longer be accessible and will be deleted.”

Launched in 2010, HTC are now urging users to head over to the Google Play app market and download an alternative back-up service.

It’s all a bit mysterious and, frankly, a bit disrespectful to the users of the service. HTC haven’t given any clear indication of what the new improvements will be, when they are ready, or what adequate alternatives there are to HTCSense.com in the meantime. We expect further Dropbox integration for the HTC One Range is imminent, but those who have used HTCSense.com since it launched back in 2010 may feel they’ve now been given the cold shoulder.

For more info, click here.






About the Author

Gerald Lynch

Gerald LynchHTCSense.com closes doors for renovation: back up your files now or lose them!